Testimonials

What our clients have to say about Buchanan Design Studio

“We are so pleased to have worked with Scott for our first custom home building design. Not only was he very responsive communicating with us prior to our first visit, but our initial meeting resulted in a precise representation of our wish list. Scott asked us specific questions to help gather information about what we had in mind, and really listened when we described our imagined details – big or small – for our dream home. His knowledge of the Grapevine Historic District requirements also resulted in a very easy, stress-free process to align those standards with our vision. The few minor changes or “what ifs” we discussed were updated in the design easily within a day or two. We would definitely recommend Scott and work with him again.”

Chuck and Kristy – Grapevine, TX

Custom Home Design, May 2020

“We are so pleased with Buchanan Design Studio. Scott listened to our needs and met all of our expectations. I had a major change I wanted done and Scott listened and offered his professional opinion without being condescending or put-off by my edit. Our house plan was put together with expertise and precision. If you are looking for someone to get your dream home ideas onto paper and one step closer to reality, look no further than Scott with Buchanan Design Studio!”

Joseph and Jessica – Bridge City, TX

Custom Home Design, May 2020

“What a pleasure it has been working with you Scott. From our first concept meeting throughout the entire design process right to our final Blueprints, truly a pleasure. Always able to grasp in very short order Michelle and my concept, then bring it to life on paper. I truly appreciate his ability to listen, challenge our thinking and requests in a positive way, then deliver what we were envisioning. I will say, we have worked with designers in the past who always tried to give us what was their vision of the perfect house. You delivered to Michelle and I our vision of our perfect home. Thank you.”

Randy and Michelle – Grapevine, TX

Custom Home Design, May 2020

“I’ve worked with Buchanan Design Studio in creating many different product lines and Scott is my most favorite Designer that I have worked with. He is current with the evolving trends, and always been exceptional at capturing my vision. Scott has consistently exceeded my high standards of excellence and I fully recommend his professional expertise!”

Brandon, Division Manager – Colleyville, TX

Graham Hart Home Builder

“We had the absolute pleasure and good fortune of working with Scott Buchanan on our home design. Our property is a historic landmark property so not only did Scott have to deal with our myriad of ever-changing requests but always had to consider the historic committee as well. He was unflappable, professional, timely, creative and a great person to spend time with.

5 stars from our experience….”

John and Renee – Grapevine, TX

Historic Remodel/Addition, February 2020

“Scott has been very responsive. He has taken the time to model everything in 3D for the project and in doing so has exposed several things we elected to change. Scott was able to deliver the look we wanted. This process has proved to be very valuable. I can’t imagine doing this remodel without him.”

James and Arlene – Southlake, TX

Remodel/Addition, February 2020

“The thing we loved most about Scott is that he has the perfect combination of technical, artistic and practical. Instead of doing the bare minimum, he used our ideas and budget to find modern and smart solutions that we truly love. He’s an artist without the ego, and was willing to make edits until every little thing was perfect. We definitely recommend him to anyone who wants to love their next house.”

Preston and Anna – Mansfield, TX

Custom Home Design, March 2019

“We were introduced to Scott Buchanan in June of 2019 after the purchase of our new home in the Grapevine Historic District.  Finding an architectural designer that understands the requirements and guidelines of designing a re-build of a historic home in Grapevine is no easy task and while understanding our family’s needs for our new home.  After talking to Scott we knew immediately we found our architectural designer to build our forever home.  

Scott listened to our needs and designed our new home to our specifications along with keeping with the requirements and guidelines of the Grapevine Historic District.  He laid out a plan for when the first draft would be available to when the finished design would be ready for build.  In addition, Scott joined us for multiple meetings with the Grapevine Historic District Director, and provided positive feedback on our approach for each unique aspect of our new home.  Scott made himself available to join us for our presentation to the Historic District Committee and provided a comprehensive plan to the Committee which was approved at our first meeting.

Scott’s inside knowledge of working with the Grapevine Historic District Committee and ability to listen to our needs were key to moving through a process that could have taken longer.  We look forward to starting the build of our new home and working with Scott along the way.  Scott, thank you for your time and being an important partner in the process of the approval and creation of our forever home.”

Ronny and Michelle – Grapevine, TX (Historic District)

Custom Home Design, October 2019

“Enjoyed working with Scott so much. He was very professional, patient and listened to our concerns throughout the entire process and is an excellent architectural designer. We highly recommend him and would most certainly use his services again.”

James and Kelly – Fort Worth, TX

Custom Home Design, July 2019

“We enjoyed working with Scott on the design of our home! He listened to our vision and advised us where needed. Can’t wait to see it finished!”

Leland and Rani – Fort Worth, TX

Custom Home Design, May 2019

“We can’t say enough good things about Scott. We are in the process of building our first custom home and we had looked all over the DFW area trying to find a designer. Until we met Scott and right away we knew he was the guy for us. Scott made us feel welcome and comfortable throughout the entire process. He went out of his way to make himself available to us whenever we had questions. Scott’s professionalism is not like any other we have experienced throughout the entire home building process. We gave him a general idea of what we were looking for and he hit the nail on the head. As a couple that is extremely picky and very detail-oriented Scott was able to give us exactly what we were looking for, even giving us great ideas along the way we had not thought of. His attention to detail even the smallest ones is what set him apart. We couldn’t be happier with our decision to use Scott for the design of our home and we would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great designer to use Scott!”

Doug and Gabby – Aledo, TX

Custom Home Design, March 2019

“Scott knows design inside and out and his passion comes through on every house he designs for us!”

Aaron Brown – Roanoke, TX

Brilliant Home Builders

“A friend referred us to Scott after being disappointed with a previous architect. We came with sketches and pictures of what our dream home would look like and Scott made it a reality. I left our first meeting feeling very confident and loved the fact that Scott was just as excited about our home as we were. He was timely, understood our vision, offered ideas and was on point for every detail of our home. We are so thankful for his creativity and genuine concern for our forever home!”

Jason and Amy – Rockwall, TX

Custom Home Design, May 2018

“We were very pleased with the design Scott created to add two bedrooms and a bathroom to our house. We had several ideas in mind and Scott was able to explain which were the most practical and cost effective in terms someone who isn’t an architectural designer can understand. After deciding which option was best for us, he was able to design it in a way that left the structure we wanted to keep intact and still give us the square footage we needed for the additional rooms. And he did all of it right in line with the original estimate he gave us. We would highly recommend Scott to anyone needing an architectural designer.”

Tony and Annie – Colleyville, TX

Remodel/Addition, July 2019

“Our builder introduced us to Scott who he chose to be the architectural designer for our home.  My wife and I met with Scott and he had us tell him exactly what we wanted and he was able to hand draw a rough outline.  A short week later we had formal plans and we could not have been happier.  We are truly pleased with Scott’s skill to interpret what a homeowner envisions and put it together on a formal plan.  Also, Scott was very reasonable and patient with little changes here and there.  Thank you!!!”

Kevin and Kelly – Grapevine, TX

Custom Home Design, March 2019

“We used Scott to design plans for a major addition and renovation for our home in historic Grapevine and would highly recommend him. His work is creative, functional, and well thought out. Additionally, his knowledge of working with the city and his attention to detail proved to be a great asset in making the plans and approval process a smooth one. During the design process, he would keep us in the loop on his progress with the plans and was timely with his work. We plan to use Scott for future projects and would absolutely recommend him for any scale project.”

Ryan and Sommer – Grapevine, TX (Historic District)

Remodel/Addition, August 2019

“We’ve had several experiences with architectural designers and Scott was far and away better than all the others. He is just the right balance of knowing what you want but also telling you what you need. He is design savvy, prompt, professional and provides an exceptional product. Simply put, we felt like he “got us” and was able to put to paper what we had in our minds. We absolutely loved working with Scott.”

Jake and Felecia – Fayetteville, AR

Banner House Co.

“Scott did an amazing job taking our vision and making it a reality while using his experience to make the best possible use of the space we had. We are super happy with his design and ultimately the finished product.”

Matt - Trophy Club, TX

Kitchen Remodel, February 2018

“From our first ‘wish list’ meeting on through to a final product that checked off every want, Scott was amazing. His willingness to tweak and refine designs along the way made the process feel extremely collaborative and as stress-free as building a house can be. My wife and I couldn’t be happier with working with Scott and are more than happy to recommend him.”

Nick and Courtney – Grapevine, TX

Custom Home Design, April 2018

“Our experience with Scott has been great, we walked in his office with a few sketches and some screen shots of what we wanted our new home to look like. Scott took that information and created a set of drawings that made our dreams a reality. He listened to our concerns, and offered suggestions and presented several options for us to review before marking a final decision. Through the construction process Scott was available by phone to work through a few challenges. He was always willing to provide additional details if needed. In addition to the wonderful architectural service Scott provided, he was also a great resource for structural engineering firms to help us complete our drawings. Kristi and I would recommend Buchanan Design Studio to anyone wanting to design their dream home.”

Josh and Kristi – Brock, TX

Custom Home Design, March 2018

“We highly recommend Scott for your custom home design. Scott was a pleasure to work with. He made the design process of our home go smoothly and was always readily available even after the building process began. He has a passion for designing beautiful homes. Couple that with his experience and his 24/7 availability, we have no doubt he is the premier architectural designer in DFW.”

Armin and Kathy - Keller, TX

Custom Home Design, October 2016

“Working with Scott was great – he took our ideas and instead of telling us how they wouldn’t work, figured out how to make it happen. With his help we were able to incorporate our ideas into the finished product. He does a great job of listening, making suggestions for improvements and then providing comprehensive construction documents.”

Jason and LuAnn - Grapevine, TX

Custom Home Design, May 2015

“My wife and I enjoyed working with Scott. He was a great help in building our dream home. He listened to what we wanted and helped us put it all together. He brought great ideas to the table and worked with us to include things we envisioned for our home.  We would definitely use Scott again.”

Josh & Ellie – Grapevine, TX

Custom Home Design, December 2014